Equine Massage

Reaction score
Anyone ever heard of this or perform it? I just finished the first part of the course that certifies me to be an Equine Massage Therapist. It's really neat working with horses. They give such good feedback. I want to discuss this more and share some pictures! I was just wondering if anyone has heard of it and what they know about the field. I live in Pinehurst, NC which is the center of the universe for horses and their owners. It seems that way anyway! I know this is a giant hub because our soil is natural sand and it' inland.
Well, I didn't grow up a 'horse person' but I had been around horses through friends. I'm not a riding expert but am taking lessons now so I can understand my new craft better.
I just went to see a horse the other day who was suffering from lymphangitis. We worked on his pecs and found that he had some scar tissue around the cephalic vein that could have been contributing to the lymph fluid accumulating in his proximal forelimb. After about 20 minutes of work, you could start to see his cannon bones and veins more defined! It was really neat. I haven't gotten an update, but hope to continue on adventures like that!
Most horses, if they aren't too interested in mating at that time rather than being tied up and worked on, are very receptive to massage work. It sedates them and they give some hilarious and smelly responses and signs of release!
Anyway, that's my intro to that.. let's talk about it! I love it!

Hi Meg:

I'm not sure if I've introduced myself on the boards or not... I'm "justa lurker", since I don't actually start MT school until Nov. 1st (can't WAIT!)