Biggest Massage Oriented Forums on the Planet - Massage.forum | MassagePlanet.net | Massage.live | Massage.chat

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Pricing for prenatal massage practice

vinnyhonn

Reaction score
I’m having trouble deciding on what to charge.
Background ~ I’ve been practicing for a little over 3 years. Prenatal work has always been my passion but I’m just getting around to being certified. I’m also certifying as a doula & an infant massage instructor. Right now in my private practice I charge $50 an hour no matter what type of massage I’m doing.

I also work in a Studio in another city (about 50 miles away.) The owner of that studio has asked me to move my private practice to her studio. There basic massage is $60 for 50 minutes but since I will be certified & focusing on pregnancy massage she thought I should charge $85 for 50 minutes (the studio would get $25). Now she is providing a receptionist (9am-9pm 7 days a week) any major equipment, a laundry service, and some advertising. I would bring myself, lotion, music, business cards, and any retail that I wanted in the front and set my own hours. I should also mention that I’m planning to move to that city this year.

I did talk with her about how I’m not comfortable doing 50 minutes for my private practice. Besides the point that there is more consultation for a pregnancy massage and it takes longer to get dressed/undressed and on/off the table. ~ I should know I’m pregnant right now. So she has mentioned that if it was 75 minutes the studio would take $30, and for 90 minutes $35. I’m thinking I’d always want 30 minutes between clients to allow for consultation and not having to rush.